Ask a question

Экономический факультет

Foundation and formation

The Faculty of Economics of the Abkhaz University was founded in 1980.

The formation of the Faculty took place during the transition period. In 1979 the Sukhum Pedagogical Institute was transformed into the University and until 1989 the difficult process of transitioning to University Standards was going on.

Within the framework of the Faculty in the early years the Training Courses were conducted in three Departments:

· Department of Political Economy

· Department of Accounting

· Department of National Economy Planning


A huge contribution to the development of the Faculty of Economics is connected with the name of its first Dean, Feizba Yazbey Rizovich. He achieved a lot - his students gained success in various fields of economics. Of particular note is his fruitful scientific activity in the field of the National Economy of Abkhazia. He is the author and co-author of textbooks on National Economics and the initiator of the creation of the National Economics Department. A special scholarship named after Feizba Y. R. was established at the Faculty of Economics.

Challenges of Times


In the early 1990s, the Faculty was destined to face several challenges of that time.

The collapse of the Soviet Union and the deep transformation of the Social System that came with it required the development of new approaches. The Faculty members had to revise the foundations and structure of economic education, which were just introduced.


The Faculty hasn’t been spared the tragic events of 1992-1993 neither. Lecturers and students of the Faculty formed the forefront of the Motherland Defenders in the Patriotic War of the People of Abkhazia. The Deputy Dean, Zakanbey Marshaniya and 20 more students never returned from the war. In their honor, a memorial board was opened at the Faculty.

Contribution to the post-war development of the Republic of Abkhazia
The revival and further development of the Republic was impossible without the rise of Economic Education. Despite numerous difficulties, the Faculty made a significant contribution to the development of Economic Science and Economy of Abkhazia.

Thus, by the State Order, the Faculty drafted a number of Laws of the Republic of Abkhazia, including the Draft Concept of Socio-Economic Development of the Republic of Abkhazia, etc.

New Times

In 2008, the Faculty was one of the first to switch to a Tiered Training System, including the Bachelor’s Degree Program and Specialist’s Degree Program.

Currently, more than 370 students are studying at the Faculty. The training of Bachelors, Specialists and Masters at the Faculty is carried out according to University Programs matching Russian Educational Standards, taking into account the National component.

The Education System at the Faculty of Economics is focused on students gaining deep fundamental knowledge in combination with specialization in applied issues.

Success and Opportunities


Over the years of its activities, the Faculty has trained more than 2000 specialists, the vast majority of whom successfully work both in Abkhazia and abroad. The Faculty has become a forge of personnel for government, production, banking, resort and tourism, scientific and teaching spheres.


At different times, among graduates of the Faculty of Economics are: ex-Minister of Economics of Abkhazia, PhD in Economics Ozgan K.K., Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance of the Republic of Abkhazia (2011-2015), Delba V.V., Associate Professor, Head of the State Statistics Department of the RA, Gogiya K.A., former Head of Sberbank of the RA, Bganba T.S., Chairman of CB Invest-Bank Atrushba J.Y., Chairman of Amra-Bank, PhD in Economics Chalmaz M.R. and others.


Many graduates devote their lives to their favorite Faculty continuing to engage in Scientific and teaching activities. Among them are: the graduate of 1983, Kvitsiniya M.G., Head of Department, PhD in Economics, Associate Professor and Ozgan E.K., Dean of the Faculty, PhD in Economics, Associate Professor.


Faculty Structure

There are 6 Departments at the Faculty:

- "Theoryof Economics" – Head of the Department, PhD in Economics, Associate Lagvilava R.M.,

- “Accounting and Audit” - Head of the Department, Associate Professor M.G.Kvitsinia
- "National Economy"
Head of Department –Associate Professor Kubrava B.S.,
-“Public Administration and Management”
- Head of Department - проф Doctor of Economics, Professor Gumba Kh.M.

- “Finance and Credit” - acting Head of Department - PhD in Economics, Associate Professor Kvarandziya A. A.
-“Higher Mathematics” - Head of the Department PhD in Economics, E. A. Gavrilova

The Faculty is headed by PhD in Economics, Associate Professor Ozgan E.K.


The teaching process at the Faculty is provided by the staff composed of 4 Doctors of Sciences, 17 specialists with PhD Degree, 25 Associate Professors, as well as Specialists with extensive experience in practical work from Government, banking and business.


Over the past 10 years, Faculty members defended 1 Doctoral and 15 Master's Theses, published 3 monographs, 3 textbooks, 66 Study Guides, and published more than 180 articles.


The International cooperation

ASU is collaborating with leading Russian Universities, including Lomonosov Moscow State University, St. Petersburg State University of Economics and Finance, Financial University within the Government of the Russian Federation (Moscow), Kuban State University, (Krasnodar), Southern Federal University (Rostov-on-Don), Shevchenko Transnistrian State University (Tiraspol) and others.

Декан факультета

Озган Ева Константиновна
  • Звание: Доцент
  • Ученая степень: Кандидат экономических наук


Телефон: 89123129512